Remembering the Beach
Group Name Rutgers Wind Ensemble
Conductor William Berz
Event Rutgers
Album ID - 50279-MCD

$15.00 CD purchase... Free Shipping (in US)

Track TITLE Composer/Arranger
1 At the Beach Thomson, Virgil
2 Study Piece (Portrait of a Lady) Thomson, Virgil
3 Edges (A Portrait of Robert Indiana) Thomson, Virgil
4 A Solemn Music Thomson, Virgil
5 A Joyful Fugue Thomson, Virgil / Fussell, Charles
6 Bali Colgrass, Michael
7 Symphony No. 4 Maslanka, David

This is the final CD in the Bill Berz, conducts series with the Rutgers Wind Ensemble. This twenty-first disc which accompanies ten educational discs on the Mark Masters label, will close out the series which has catapulted and launched dozens of composer's careers.

"Remembering the Beach" was originally going to be titled "At the Beach" after the Virgil Thomson piece on the CD, until the chilling events of Hurricane Sandy devastated the East Coast of the United States. This CD is dedicated to the memories and reflections of the millions of people who spent time and grew up along the coasts of New Jersey.

This is what the reviewers have written about the Rutgers Wind Ensemble:

Ira Novoselsky of BandWorld writes about this CD: “As expected, the performances by the Rutgers Wind Ensemble cannot be matched and I offer a personal salute and thank you to Maestro Berz for his legendary series of recordings.” and "Whenever the Rutgers Wind Ensemble releases a CD, it bears immediate attention."

Barry Kilpatrick of American Record Guide: "I know that this disc will be on my Critic’s Choice list for 1998."

Leon Bly of WASBE World writes: "...these enjoyable works receive very clean and transparent readings. Berz ... just lets this beautiful music speak for itself without any bloated interpretation. There is lots of music to enjoy..."