Group Name 2021 Kappa Kappa Psi & Tau Beta Sigma
Conductor Dr. Cynthia Johnston Turner
Event 2021 National Intercollegiate Band
Album ID - 56191-MCD

$15.00 Mp3 download available full album only
$15.00 CD purchase... Free Shipping (in US)


Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma are proud to present the 2021 National Intercollegiate Band (NIB). Open to all qualified collegiate musicians, the NIB brings members face-to-baton with some of the most dynamically stimulating composers and respected conductors in America. Dr. F. Lee Bowling, Kappa Kappa Psi National President (Alpha Iota, University of Colorado) from 1941-1947, is regarded as the Founder of the National Intercollegiate Band. The NIB was Bowlings cherished idea, and through the years he worked to develop a plan that firmly established the organization as a national service project for the Fraternity and Sorority.

The first NIB performed as part of the 14th Biennial Convention of Kappa Kappa Psi in 1947 at Oklahoma A&M College (now Oklahoma State University) in Stillwater, Oklahoma, and featured 125 select student musicians from more than 16 colleges. The program from this concert featured 11 musical selections and 10 different conductors - including Bowling, Charles Wiley, Hugh E. McMillen, J. Lee Burke, William A. Scroggs, and Dr. Bohumil Makovsky. The concert opened with John Philip Sousas famous march, Semper Fidelis (always faithful).