Group Name Amy Laursen, horn; Todd Cranson, tuba; Anne Waltner, piano
Album ID - 56399-MCD

$15.00 Mp3 download available full album only
$15.00 CD purchase... Free Shipping (in US)

This recording project is comprised of newly composed pieces for tuba/horn duo. Amy and Todd frequently perform chamber music of various instrumentations together, and this combination represents the smallest of their collaborative efforts. The professional low brass trio, Trio di Velluto, was born out of a need for music for brass quintet minus trumpets. The duos are simply a progression from there when their euphonium colleague Jamie Lipton is not available.
Though coincidence, all music on this CD has some connection to the place that is the northern plains. Be it explicit, as in Italian composer Corrado Maria Sagliettis Crossing South Dakota, or more tangential, as in Logan Wadley calling Vermillion, SD home, the thread was a fun, unifying element to this recording project.
The six works on this CD are thrillingly fun to perform chamber music, and it is hoped that this recording will help them, and other works by these composers, reach the music stand of chamber musicians around the world.

1. Intrada for Joey

Suite for Horn, Tuba and Piano
2. I. Weird Scherzo
3. II. Legato pensive
4. III. Allegro giocoso

I Have Relatives in North Dakota
5. I....and theyre crazy
6. II....and theyre too cold in winter
7. III....and theyre too hot in summer
8. IV....and theyre rather fun to be around

Southwest Sketches for Horn, Tuba and Piano
9. I. Sky Islands
10. II. Red Rock Lullaby
11. III. On the Rim

Sonata No. 2 in D Major from Sonates pour le Viollon et pour le Clavecin
12. I. Presto
13. II. Adagio
14. III. Presto

Crossing South Dakota for Horn, Tuba and Piano
15. I. Black Hills
16. II. Music in Sioux Falls
17. III. Drift Prairie in Winter
18. IV. Huron State Fair