A 20th & 21st Century Star-Spangled Horn Extravaganza
Group Name Gary L. Reeves, horn; Nancy Zimmerman, piano
Album ID - 56400-MCD

$15.00 Mp3 download available full album only
$15.00 CD purchase... Free Shipping (in US)

Music by 20th and 21st Century American Composers for Horn and Piano

1. Odyssey for Horn and Piano

Four Sketches for Horn and Piano
2. The Mountain and the River
3. Ghost Train
4. The Valley
5. The Hunt

6. In the Silence

Four Short Pieces for Horn and Piano
7. Andante con moto
8. Allegro
9. Andante con moto
10. Allegro non troppo

11. Canciones
12. Summer Nocturne

Sonata for Horn and Piano
13. Allegro moderato
14. Poco adagio
15. Allegro

16. Stardust

Gary L. Reeves is a Professor Emeritus at the University of South Dakota. He is a former member of the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra, the Sioux City (IA) Symphony Orchestra, and Gary formerly served as Principal Horn for the Northwest Iowa Symphony Orchestra. He continues to perform as a member of A Touch of Brass, a brass quintet in northeast Nebraska, the Quintessential Winds woodwind quintet in Sioux City, Iowa, and as the Principal Horn in Rockestra, a Sioux City based rock and roll orchestra. Gary has been a soloist both on the modern instrument and on the historical (natural) horn. He has performed each summer for the past 25 years in the upper peninsula of Michigan, most recently as hornist for the North Coast Chamber Players. Gary holds degrees from Augustana College in Illinois, the University of South Dakota, and The University of Iowa. He previously taught at Oregon State University in Corvallis, and at Southern Utah University. Dr. Reeves has published music through Carl Fischer Music and Veritas Musica Publishing, and has authored articles appearing in The Horn Call, The Instrumentalist, and other periodicals. Gary also has performed on other recordings issued by Mark Records. Dr. Reeves has served as a clinician and adjudicator throughout much of the United States and Canada. He is married to Dr. Deborah Check Reeves, Curator of Education and Curator of Woodwinds at the National Music Museum. Garys hobbies include bicycling, classic cars, and ownership of two Brittany spaniels.

Dr. Nancy Zimmerman is, as of 2021, a Professor Emeritus of Music and former Director of Piano Studies at Northern Michigan University, having joined the faculty in 1985. Nancy earned the D.M.A. degree at the University of Arizona. She is co-author of 24 Karat Piano Skills, an adult piano method. Nancy has been in high demand as a soloist, collaborative pianist, and recording artist. Nancy released her first solo recording in 1995. She and Gary Reeves released their first collaborative compact disc, A Twentieth Century Star- Spangled Horn Extravaganza, in 2013. Nancy continues to perform as a soloist and in chamber music settings on the Northern Michigan University campus, throughout the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, in northern Wisconsin, and in additional locations. Dr. Zimmerman is active as an adjudicator in her field. She also is a performer on the harp. She performs on both piano and harp as a founding member of the Marquette Symphony Orchestra. Nancy and her husband Dick own horses and dogs, produce maple syrup from the trees on their farm, and are engaged in additional projects.