Determination, Music for Trumpet
Group Name Scott Hagarty, trumpet
Guest Artists Tomoko Kanamaru, piano; Michael Adduci, oboe
Album ID - 56560-MCD

$15.00 Mp3 download available full album only
$15.00 CD purchase... Free Shipping (in US)

There was a day, many years ago, when I had a deeply engaging conversation with my wife Mia, who mentioned to me that one of the qualities that she most admired about me was my determination. I had never thought of myself as being very determined, but the idea has resurfaced in my mind over and over since that conversation so long ago. Years later, I see now that she was right. I would have probably called it stubbornness, but determination is a much more positive way to look at it. In many ways the music you will hear on this recording reflects the decades of determination that has led to the creation of this album. I am excited to share new music that some dear friends wrote for me, as well as music I am fascinated with and love in a variety of styles and genres. My goal with this project was to present the first, or nearly first recording of this music from composers that I feel deserve to be heard by a worldwide audience. It will also serve as a reference recording for what I hope will be many future performances and recordings by trumpet players around the world.

1. Rhapsody
world premiere recording

world premiere recording
2. Mvt I. Overture
3. Interlude 1
4. Mvt II. Aria
5. Interlude 2
6. Mvt III. Interlude
7. Interlude 3
8. Mvt IV. Finale

9. Song for Sarah
world premiere recording

Suite for Oboe and Trumpet
world premiere recording
10. Mvt I. Invocation
11. Mvt II. Nocturne
12. Mvt III. Elegy
13. Mvt IV. Invention
14. Mvt V. Fragments
15. Mvt VI. Fanfare

Concerto for Trumpet
16. Mvt I. Allegro
17. Mvt II. Cantilena
18. Mvt III. Allegro leggiero

19. Captain Anya
world premiere recording